Southern California Desert Video Astronomers

Your Subtitle text

Our Mission.............................
" To share our abilities with astronomy in order to preserve dark starry night skies and a vibrant healthy environment in the California Desert and everywhere else on our Planet for future generations! "

SCDVA, moving the line for dark skies and environmental awareness. 
    

* * * * * * * *


The World's First & Only Live Astronomy Theater.

_______________

WELCOME

FRIENDS AROUND THE WORLD!
Let's explore our wonderful Universe together!

 
 ____________


Due to Covid, Sadly, all Events are Cancelled until Further Notice.



Clear Sky Chart for The Joshua Tree Astronomy Arts Theater  
 

   

  

Moon Phases for August 2020




January moon, February moon, March moon, April moon, May moon, June moon, July moon, August moon, September moon, October moon, November moon, December Moon

_______________________________ 

SCDVA, Official IDA Chapter Serving The High Desert Region
of
San Bernardino County
 
 

      

IDA International Dark Sky Association


"Ask not what dark skies can do for you, rather,
Ask what you can do for dark skies."

                                                                                Inspired by a quote from JFK



 

 

Click the above image to see amazing live views of our earth
*****



Book Your Fun Events Now Under the Beautiful Joshua Tree Night Skies
JTAATinfo@gmail.com


________



 
For our next Star Party or Event
Why Not Make it an All Nighter Under the Starry Nights of the Joshua Tree Desert Skies.

 Make your camping reservations early
         At the Joshua Tree Lake RV & Campground
     
       


Questions?

Contact us at:
scdvainfo@gmail.com



                          
                       

 


July Highlights


Here is a sample of some of Wally's recent photo of Comet Neowise.

Comet Neowise over Valley of Fire State Park


Comet Neowise at Bryce Canyon


Comet Neowise over Sand Harbor Lake Tahoe

Your can find all of Wally Pacholka's  Neowise photos and more at



AUGUST SKIES

The Moon and the Planets

August 1st Close approach of the Moon and Jupiter   
From Joshua Tree, the pair will be visible in the evening sky, becoming accessible around 8:03 pm. (PDT) as the dusk sky fades, 15° above your south-eastern horizon. 



Aug. 2nd - Sagittarius, Saturn and the Moon
Looking in the constellation Sagittarius, Saturn will make a close approach to the Moon.  the pair will be visible in the evening sky, becoming accessible around 8:01 pm (PDT) as the dusk sky fades, 11° above your south-eastern horizon. 



August 3rd -  Full Moon
Moonrise will occur at 08:13 pm in the Joshua tree area and set at 5:47 am.
This full moon was known by early Native American tribes as the Full Sturgeon Moon because the large sturgeon fish of the Great Lakes and other major lakes were more easily caught at this time of year. This Full Moon is known as the Corn Moon, Red Moon, Green Corn Moon, or Grain Moon. It rises around sunset and sets around sunrise; this is the only night in the month when the moon is in the sky all night long. The rest of the month, the moon spends at least some time in the daytime sky.




August 4th - For the Early Birds


Venus is the morning star with Mars high above and Mercury just above the horizon.  Orion the Hunter is always a highlight for star gazers with the Gemini Twins to the lower South of Venus.

August 9th The Moon & Mars
The pair will be visible in the morning sky, becoming visible around 11:20 pm (PDT), when they rise to an altitude of 7° above your eastern horizon. 



August 11th-12th Perseids Meteor Shower
Peak on the evening of Tuesday the 11th and the early morning hours of the 12th.
The Perseids is one of the best meteor showers to observe, producing up to 60 meteors per hour at its peak. It is produced by comet Swift-Tuttle, which was discovered in 1862. The Perseids are famous for producing a large number of bright meteors. The shower runs annually from July 17 to August 24. It peaks this year on the night of the 11th and morning of the 12th. The last quarter moon will be at 49.8% full and rising at 12:13 am in Joshua Tree on the 12th (PDT) and will block out some of the fainter meteors this year, but the Perseids are so bright and numerous that it should still be a good show. The best viewing will be from a dark location after midnight. Meteors will radiate from the constellation Perseus but can appear anywhere in the sky.



While looking for meteors, check out the planets and the Milkey Way in the South-West.



Aug.14th/15th Rare Double Shadow Transit with GRS on Jupiter


Friday at 9:06 pm PDT and shortly after midnight on the east coast, Saturday, Aug. 15, observers in the Americas will be able to see a rare event of a double shadow transit accompanied by the Great Red Spot At 9:06 pm PDT, 12:06 a.m. EDT or 04:06 GMT, Io's small shadow will join Ganymede's larger shadow and the Great Red Spot already progressing across Jupiter's northern and southern hemispheres, respectively. The trio will remain visible until Ganymede's shadow and the GRS move off Jupiter at about 10:53 pm PDT, 1:53 a.m. EDT or 05:53 GMT. Io's shadow will complete its transit at approximately 11:25 pm PDT, 2:25 a.m. EDT or 06:25 GMT.

 

If you miss this one there will be another rare transit on August 22nd.

Aug. 21st/22nd Rare Double Shadow Transit on Jupiter
Observers in the western half of North America get to see another rare double shadow transit. Friday/Saturday, August 21/22 from 11:32 pm PDT and 1:32 am CDT Ganymede's large shadow will join Io's already-transiting smaller shadow. The pair will cross Jupiter together for nearly two hours, until Io's shadow moves off Jupiter at 1:15 PDT and 3:15 CDT.






Follow Us On



____________________________________





   




* * * *

* * * * *
Joshua Tree Astronomy Arts Theater
________

Check out the  
Joshua Tree Astronomy Arts Theater

 

Facebook site
for further & future details
on
Upcoming Events





   

  


                       
For online priceing & info go to

www.jtlake.com


____________________

Please Help Support our efforts. To contribute, click the link below.

Or mail your Contributions to

JTAAT
P.O. Box 425
Joshua Tree Ca. 92252

Thank you for your support


Note:  non tax deductible





Last updated August 02, 2020